Skip to Main Content
South African Data Repositories
SAEON Data Portal
The SAEON Data Portal provides meta-data-driven search and discovery facilities, and also serves as a repository for data contributed by stakeholders and providers.
South African Data Archive (NRF)
he South African Data Archive serves as a broker between a range of data providers (for example, statistical agencies, government departments, opinion and market research companies and academic institutions) and the research community. The archive does not only preserve data for future use, but all adds value to the collections. It safeguards datasets and related documentation and attempts to make it as easily accessible as possible for research and educational purposes.
Unisa Data Repository
An open digital archive of scholarly, intellectual and research outputs of the University of South Africa. The UnisaIR contains and preserves theses and dissertations, research articles, conference papers, rare and special materials and many other digital assets. With special collections from the Documentation Center for African Studies including manuscripts, photos, political posters and other archival materials about the history of South Africa.
ZivaHub (University of Cape Town Data Repository)
The University of Cape Town (UCT) uses Figshare for institutions for their data repository, which was launched in 2017 and is called ZivaHub: Open Data UCT. ZivaHub serves principal investigators at the University of Cape Town who are in need of a repository to store and openly disseminate the data that support their published research findings. The repository service is provided in terms of the UCT Research Data Management Policy. It provides open access to supplementary research data files and links to their respective scholarly publications (e.g. theses, dissertations, papers et al) hosted on other platforms, such as OpenUCT.
DataFirst
DataFirst's open research data repository, based at the University of Cape Town, gives open access to disaggregated administrative and survey data from African governments and research entities. DataFirst also operates a secure centre at the university to give researchers access to highly-disaggregated South African data.
Square Kilometre Array
The Square Kilometre Array (SKA) is a radio telescope with around one million square metres of collecting area, designed to study the Universe with unprecedented speed and sensitivity. The SKA is not a single telescope, but a collection of various types of antennas, called an array, to be spread over long distances. The SKA will be used to answer fundamental questions of science and about the laws of nature, such as: how did the Universe, and the stars and galaxies contained in it, form and evolve? Was Einstein’s theory of relativity correct? What is the nature of ‘dark matter’ and ‘dark energy’? What is the origin of cosmic magnetism? Is there life somewhere else in the Universe?
Africa Centre for Population Health
The Africa Centre offers longitudinal datasets from a rural demographic in KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa where HIV prevalence is extremely high. The data may be filtered by demographics, years, or by individuals questionnaires. The Africa Centre requests notification that anyone contact them when downloading their data. Since January 2000, the Africa Centre For Population Health has built up an extensive longitudinal database of demographic, social, medical and economic information about the members of its Demographic Surveillance Area, which is situated in a rural area of northern KwaZulu-Natal. It has developed from this database, the following suite of datasets which can be used both internally within the organisation, and by other researchers.
Click on image to access the data repository registry
All information © 2018 University of KwaZulu-Natal. All rights reserved.
