Skip to main content

Law and Legal Studies: Books

Finding UKZN library resources via World Cat Local

 The 'icatalogue' function on World Cat Local tells you what physical, digital and multimedia resources (books, journals, articles, DVDs, theses etc) are available in world libraries including UKZN. The UKZN library catalogue is now integrated into this world catalogue.

The catalogue also includes access to online resources such as journal articles, e books and more.

There are two ways of searching. At the basic level, click on 'icatalogue' and type words, a title or author into the search box. Once you get a results list, limit your search by format, time period etc (from the left hand side column). UKZN library resources are listed first in the results. Results are presented in terms of relevance; this can be changed to reflect newest first, by title etc.

The advanced search allows you to be more specific before you you actually run a search. Scroll down to the bottom of the page where you can indicate a UKZN only search, limit by date, format and it is possible to combine different kinds of search terms. In advanced search you can also select your own databases to search.

 A Guide to using World Cat Local is available.

 Training sessions on how to use the new system will be offered at the beginning of each semester, or ask a subject librarian.

 

Guides to iCatalogue and the World cat Local tabs

Print books and online books: an introduction

Prescribed and recommended books: Academic Reserves

Most recent South African texts and copies of prescribed and recommended books are usually kept in the Academic Reserves sections of the two law libraries and some in the main libraries. Academic Reserves materials may not be taken out of the library during the day but may be borrowed overnight or for weekends. An advance booking system is available, please consult the AR staff.

           

General book stock 

The general book stock is arranged on the open shelves in number order, most within the number range 340-349. Undergraduates may borrow 6 items for a two week period. Books may be renewed if not requested by another borrower.  icatalogue on World Cat Local on the Library's website may be used to track the location and availability of an item. See below for guides to the numbering system for law books.

Dictionaries and encyclopedias

Some specialist law dictionaries and encyclopedias are available in the libraries. The South African law encyclopedia called Law of South Africa or LAWSA and Claassen's Dictionary of Legal Words and Phrases are also available online via the LexisNexis South Africa database (choose the Reference works option from the contents column). You will probably be asked to register on Lexis. Heinonline provides access to World Constitutions Illustrated

E books

Most text books are currently not available electroncially. The database LexisNexis South Africa provides access to a range of books published by LexisNexis and on the Juta database, access to Commentary on the Criminal Procedure Act, Erasmus's Superior Court Practice, Jones and Buckle's Civil Practice of the Magistrates Courts, Grogan Workplace Law and Commentary on the Sexual Offences Act. See below for a list of all the publications UKZN has access to via LexisNexis and Juta.

The Hein Online database provides access to a range of legal classics.

Theses

Please click on the Theses and Dissertations tab at the top of this page

Use the icatalogue to identify print and electronic theses and books in UKZN libraries.

What if a book is not available at UKZN Library?

UKZN Library offers an Inter campus and Interlibrary loan (ILL) facility, through which books can be borrowed from other campuses or libraries in the country if available. Most times there is no charge for borrowing a book. Copies of journal articles may also be requested and if it cannot be scanned and emailed there is a fee for this.

If the iCatalogue offers an ILL request button, use that, otherwise send an email to ill@ukzn.ac.za

On the national system SABINET, the collection SACat indicates what books and print journals are in which library in the country.

Academic Reserves

Academic Reserves material cannot be removed from the library - the day is divided into two hour slots to allow as many users as possible to have access.

You must produce your student card to be able to borrow items.

Legal Classics

The database Heinonline provides full text access to over 1500 books considered to be legal classics.

New print books at Pmb law library

All information © 2018 University of KwaZulu-Natal. All rights reserved.