Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Law and Legal Studies: Home

IMPORTANT NOTICE

WINTER VACATION OPENING HOURS

The law libraries will be open Monday to Friday from 8am to 4.30 pm until beginning of the new semester on 25 July. Howard College law library will also be open on Saturdays from 8.30 am to 5pm.

The main libraries on all campuses are open Monday to Friday 8am to 4.30 pm and Saturdays 8.30 am - 5pm

        All libraries close between 12 and 1 for sanitising.

 

HC law librarian Kadephi Majola is currently unavailable. Please contact Rose Kuhn at the Pmb campus for any help 

 

Covid 19 and the library

We may all be at home but we are working so please feel free to contact us.

If you are getting to the library web page from off campus, please make sure you download Global Protect first so that you can safely and easily search. You also need Global Protect in order to enjoy the benefits of the sites at UKZN that are zero rated in terms of data. The instructions for Global Protect are given below.

The Global Protect app is now available from Google Play store for you to download onto cell phones.

You need to get to databases etc via the Off campus route - on the library home page - hold your mouse over Resources on the black toolbar and the last option is off campus access. You will get to a list of databases and the catalogue. Once you click on any option you will be asked for your lan login before you can proceed.

Off campus access

From the 'Resources' option on the toolbar of the Library's website, choose 'off campus access' from the drop down menu. You will be taken to a list of databases. Click on the one that you want. You will be asked to enter your university login and password. You can now access the database.


 

WELCOME! SIYAKWAMUKELA!

The Law and Legal Studies support guide provides information for undergraduates, graduates and researchers in general in the field of Law. A series of tabs at the top of this page introduce you to the information resources and activities you will need for your studies - what they are and how to access and use them.

 

Umthetho kanye nezifundo zomthetho zinikezela ngezinsiza kufunda ekutholeni ulwazi kubafundi abaqalayo kanye nabafundi abaphothulile  izifundo zabo noma abaphothulile  kuziqu zabo kanye nabacwaningi kwindima yezomthetho. Kunochungechunge lwamabhathini phezulu nepheji lapho uzothola khona umtapo wolwazi kanye nolwazi oluphathelene nezifundo zakho-Ukwazi ukuthi zitholakalaphi futhi zisetsheziswa kanjani bese uzisebenzise.

Where are we?
The School of Law is located on the Pietermaritzburg and Howard College, Durban campuses. Both law centres have their own physical libraries containing a range of printed sources as well as study space, photocopiers and computers. Those resources that are available electronically are accessible from the tabs on this page.

Off campus access  is also available for some online resources. Once you have clicked on this link, type in your usual student / staff login to authenticate yourself. You will then be presented with a list of databases. Note that access is faster via Firefox.

 

 

Google scholar

Google Scholar is a subset of Google that indexes more formal and scholarly literature in the public domain. It thus includes references to journal articles, Google Books, documents and reports etc. Google Scholar can only provide full text access to documents where they are freely available.  If UKZN Library pays for full text access to resources listed in Google Scholar, clicking on the title of an item will take you to the location of that full text.

Google Scholar Search

College of Law and Management Studies newsletter

Covid 19, vaccines in the workplace

Law Librarian

 

 Kadephi Majola

(Howard College campus)

Email: majolak@ukzn.ac.za
 

Ph: 031 260 1387

 
                                                                                       

Law library staff: Pietermaritzburg campus

Adv Shadia Alli

 Cordell Phillips

Dr Rose Kuhn (based in main library - see profiles box for details)

Law library phone:  033 260 5384

All information © 2018 University of KwaZulu-Natal. All rights reserved.