Skip to main content

Media and Culture Studies : Books

ACADEMIC RESERVES BOOKS

The ACADEMIC RESERVES collection is kept at the Issue desk in each library.  Academic reserves materials may not be removed from the libraries. These materials include books in high demand such as prescribed and recommended books.

Be warned! Late material is subject to heavy fines!

RENEW YOUR BOOKS ONLINE

Simply click on the link below and follow the instructions to renewing your books online

Use the Online Oxford English Dictionary!

               

BOOK COLLECTION (print & electronic)

UKZN Libraries have an extensive collection of print and electronic books. You may borrow items from the print collection using your student or staff card.  Electronic books are accessible via the 'Electronic Resources' tab on the library webpage as well as the iCatalogue.

BELOW IS A LISTING OF THE VARIOUS CATEGORIES OF THE BOOK COLLECTION

  • Academic Reserves : Prescribed and recommended books:

Most recent South African texts and copies of prescribed and recommended books are usually kept in the Academic Reserves (AR) section of each library.  Academic Reserves materials may not be taken out of the library at all. An advance booking system is available, please consult the AR staff.

  • General book collection

The general book stock is arranged on the open shelves in Dewey (number) order.  You may confirm your borrowing privileges by checking on the library webpage, under the 'general information' tab.

The 'Advanced Search' under the iCatalogue on the Library's website may be used to track the location and availability of an item.

  • Reference collection : Dictionaries and encyclopedias etc.

Discipline specific dictionaries and encyclopedias and other reference works are available in the libraries. This material is to be used only in the library and is not loanable.

  • eBooks

The eBook collection is currently being developed to supplement and enhance the print collection.  eBooks also facilitate greater access to more library users.  Importantly, access to the eBook collections can be obtained from the library webpage under the 'electronic resources' tab as well as iCatalogue and the ebooks option in the middle of the home page. However, when you need to access any eBook and you are off-campus, you need to authenticate yourself as a user by logging in from the OFF-CAMPUS  page.  You will then be able to retrieve all eBooks available on the various databases.

  • Theses and dissertations

Print and electronic copies of theses (masters and PhDs) undertaken at UKZN are available. Electronic versions of theses can be accessed from the ResearchSpace platform. This is UKZN Library's repository of all submitted theses and dissertations.  For more information, please click on the Theses and Dissertations tab at the top of this page

E-BOOKS

The library has a growing collection of electronic books which can be found by searching under the online eBooks tab. Some examples are listed below.

In addition, links are provided to collections of electronic books.

Key reference works for Media Studies

Reference books

These are books that are not loanable and may only be used in the library, for example, encyclopaedias and dictionaries. They are identified by the letter 'R' preceding the dewey number on the spine.

Some examples of print reference works:

Subject Guide

Mbongiseni Magagula's picture
Mbongiseni Magagula
Contact:
Eleanor Bonnar Music Library
(Francis Stock building)
Howard College, University of KwaZulu
Address: King George V Ave, Durban 4041
+27312602642

Google Books Search

All information © 2018 University of KwaZulu-Natal. All rights reserved.