Books on research methodology : 001.45 and 300.7...
Key texts are often kept in Academic Reserves
Some key methodology books in print in the UKZN libraries are:
Web of Science - Webinar
Every Researcher needs to showcase their work
BOB GREEN (Solution Consultant, Clarivate)
Do you want to raise your profile for promotion, tenure and funding applications? Learn how to build your online researcher identity, showcase your work and demonstrate your scholarly impact to get noticed by evaluators. Watch this session to learn all about the Author Records new features, including open peer review. Please click on the link below.
This is a plan that helps you to retrieve information which is relevant to your research. To prepare a strategy follow these steps:
1. Define your Topic by thinking critically about the information you need and should look for.
2. Identify the Key Concepts and subtopics of your topic.
3. Identify Search Terms using your key concepts ie. terms that you will use when searching the relevant resources. Use the Boolean operators AND, OR, and NOT to make your search more specific eg. History AND South Africa.
4. Identify Search Limits - limit your search to a specific time period. Decide on the material type eg. journal articles or books. Choose the appropriate database for the type of material you require eg. ISAP for South African journal articles or Academic Search Complete for international articles.
5. Search the databases you have selected for information. Use the links to access full text articles. Remember the multidisciplinary databases are also helpful.
6. Manage your references and citations by noting down the bibliographic details of articles. Consider using a bibliographic management tool like RefWorks or EndNote.
The literature review: a step-by-step guide for students by A literature review is a process of reading accounts of what others have had to say on a particular topic or on closely related topics. It is also about tracking down and reading as many research reports as you can find on the subject.
For guidance in conducting a literature review for different purposes consider the following resources:
Designing your first research proposal: a manual for researchers in education and the social sciences by 
Proposals that work: a guide for planning dissertations and grant proposals. by 
Doing a successful research project : using qualitative or quantitative methods by 
Research design: qualitative, quantitative, and mixed methods approaches. by Some examples:
A UKZN Library tutorial video on Open Researcher and Contributor ID (ORCID). Please click on the link.
The Writing Place (WP) provides one-on-one academic writing tutoring to students (undergrad-Masters) at the Drop-in Centre.
Need help with academic writing? Visit one of the following WP locations and book a free consultation with a tutor who will help and guide you through the academic writing process.
Westville Campus
Suite J012 (J-Block)
Howard College
EG Malherbe library, 1st Floor, Reserve book room
Click here for more information about the Howard College Writing Place
PMB Campus
Office B7 (Commerce Building Basement)
Click on the Theses / Dissertations tab above for a useful list of theses databases. Below is the link to ResearchSpace, the UKZN online thesis site.
