This is the "Home" page of the "History" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

History   Tags: history  

Last Updated: Sep 6, 2017 URL: http://libguides.ukzn.ac.za/history1 Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

HISTORY

History is taught on both the Durban and Pietermaritzburg campuses.
For information about undergraduate and graduate courses, please visit the Department of History website.

 

Finding print and electronic library materials

UKZN resources


Use  the icatalogue tab of World Cat Local  to search for books, journals and audio-visual materials housed in the UKZN libraries.


Google Scholar is a multidisciplinary database which lets users search for references to scholarly journal articles, citations, theses, preprints and books in the public domain. Full text is not automatically available.  A clickable (UKZN eText) link is provided where full text is available via UKZN databases.

Borrowing books and journals from the library

 

WELCOME / SIYAKWAMUKELA / WELKOM

The History support guide provides information for undergraduates, graduates and researchers in general in the field of History.  The aim of this guide is to help you to find your way through the information resources needed for your research projects.  While many resources are still in printed form, many of the information sources listed in this guide are online and links to them are available here. This guide is accessible from any computer with internet connectivity. Whether you choose to work from home (see off campus access) or the university, you will still be able to access the resources.

 

Resources for History

Resources for History are in the following libraries:

  • EG Malherbe Library, Howard College, Durban 
  • Cecil Renaud Library, Pietermaritzburg

and in the following Special Collections:

 

iCatalogue

The Library's iCatalogue is a one-stop place to find out what books, jorunals, audio-visual material are available in teh UKZN library as well as links to online journals, articles, books and more.

Government publications

 A selection of South African government print publications are held in respective campus libraries within UKZN.

At Pietermaritzburg Main library, they are on the first floor in the alphabetical sequence of journals (under SOU) and also in the Reference section of the Main library on the ground floor. Some (commercial versions of legislation) are also kept at the Law library. 

At Howard College, print government publications are kept on the 3rd floor of EG Malherbe library and others at the Law library.

Many online government publications are available via the following websites:

Click the link below for government publications held by UKZN libraries:

 

Renewing library material

Library material may be renewed as follows:

  • In the library at the lending desk
  • By telephone @ 031 260 2322 / 23 (Howard College); 033 260 5258 (Pietermaritzburg)
  • My library account -on the top toolbar of the library homepage.

Note you will have to register for My library account. After clicking on this option, in the box that appears, click on 'Set/reset password' first, then put in your user name (student or staff number) and a password will be emailed to you by the system. This password is unique to your 'My library account'.

Subject librarian

Profile Image
Rosemary Kuhn (Pietermaritzburg main library)

Subject Librarian

Profile Image
Nonjabulo Ngcobo
 

Off campus access

For Off Campus Access you will need a valid LAN username and password.  This refers to the username and password you use to access the computers on campus. The above link takes you straight to the list of off campus databases. Click on the database name and type in your LAN login when prompted.

Alternatively, on the library's webpage, there is a toolbar of options  near the top of the page. The middle tab is called 'Electronic resources.' Hold your mouse over this tab for the drop down menu. On the right hand side of the drop down menu, click on the first option called 'off campus access via ezproxy." Click on the name of the database you wish to use. You will be asked for your LAN login and password to be able to use the database.  If you experience difficulties with your login call the ICS help desk: 031 / 033 260 4000.

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip