History: Dissertations & theses

• The Library receives one electronic copy of each doctoral and masters thesis accepted by the University of KwaZulu-Natal.
• Earlier print theses are not generally available for loan.

• Search on World Cat Local  (icatalogue tab) for theses, by author, title or subject. If the thesis is available electronically, the link will be available. Or you may go directly to ResearchSpace.

• Electronic copies of theses are deposited in ResearchSpace - the online repository of the University of KwaZulu-Natal. It houses the full text of all new theses issued by the university. In addition, the library is at present involved in a project to digitise all past theses from the university, so many of these are also available full text. You can go directly to ResearchSpace to search theses by author, title or subject.

Current and Completed Research Covers South African research projects in various disciplines including masters and doctoral theses of SA universities and technikons as well as information on research projects from NGOs, the private sector and government departments.

Nexus - Current and Completed Research Projects is searchable via Current and Completed Research as above. However, you may also go directly to the the Nexus database.

OATD.org is an international databse of open access theses and dissertations

Proquest Dissertations and Theses Global - this is one of the largest datbases indexing theses and many theses are available full text

Click the following link to browse History collection of dissertations and theses added to the ResearchSpace:

OpenDOAR is an authoritative directory of academic open access repositories. As well as providing a simple repository list, OpenDOAR lets you search for repositories or search repository contents.

South African Institutional Repositories / Archives

• Africa Journal Archive (Sabinet)

• African Higher Education Research Online

• Cape Peninsula University of Technology

• CSIR Research Space

• DISA : Digital Innovation South Africa

• Durban University of Technology

• HSRC Research Outputs

• North-West University ETDs

• OpenSALDRU (Southern Africa Labour and Development Research Unit at UCT)

• Rhodes e-Research Repository

• SCIELO SA

• South African Genealogy - Family History research in South Africa - SA Genealogy

• South African National Veterinary Repository

• UCT CS Research Document Archive

• University of Cape Town Computer Science Research Document Archive

• University of Fort Hare IR

• University of Johannesburg DigiSpace

• University of Kwazulu Natal - UKZN ResearchSpace

• University of Limpopo IR

• University of Pretoria ETDs

• University of South Africa - UnisaIR
• University of Stellenbosch IR
• University of the Free State ETDs

• University of the Western Cape ETDs

• University of the Witwatersrand, Johannesburg (WITS) (WIReDSPACE)