Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Built Environment and Development Studies: Journals

What is a journal?

A journal is a scholarly publication containing articles written by researchers,  academics and other experts. Journals focus on a specific discipline or field of study and there are journals for every discipline.

Print journals

  • From the Library website click on iLink catalogue.
  • Type in the title of the journal in the search box and click on the blue journal tab.
  • Identify which library has the journal and what years are available.
  • Find the journal in the relevant section of the library.
  • Most print journals can be borrowed for a few days or articles may be photocopied.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search

Off campus access

Access to subscription databases and journals is only available to registered staff and students. Fill in your lan login details for access. When you are not on campus, click on the off campus link found on the Library's website under the Electronic resources tab.

E journals

Increasingly academic journals are being published online. Most academic journals are not freely available via facilities such as Google and libraries pay for access. There are various ways to find out if UKZN library pays for access to a journal and find journal articles:

  • From the Electronic resources page option on the Library Website click on e-Journals A-Z and type in the name of the journal. If the journal is available online, access details will be provided showing where the journal appears and the time coverage.

         This option is best when you know the name of the particular journal you want.

  • If you are looking for articles and do not know in which journals they appear, you may want to search a database (click on the Databases tab above). Databases index a wide range of journals and you can search for articles by keyword, topic etc.

  • Google Scholar is an international index to scholarly literature (journal articles, books, documents, theses etc) and includes articles in the academic databases. Full text will only be availalbe if free or UKZN pays for access.

 Some key online journals:

     

Housing Finance International Journal

Housing Studies

Journal of Architecture

Built & Human Environment Review

 

Environment and History Vol.16 No.2 2010 p.235–251.

 

 

 

Miscellaneous Index

Journal references can also be found using the miscellaneous index an in-house index which is compiled and maintained by staff in the Architecture Library.

Click here for information on referencing articles and information sources.

 http://library.ukzn.ac.za/Libraries/Guides/INDEX08092014.sflb.ashx

 

 

SAPSE accredited journal lists for subsidy

The UKZN Research Office provides lists of DHET accredited journals: the IBSS, SCI and South African journals lists

Subject Guide

Nontobeko Sikhosana's picture
Nontobeko Sikhosana
Contact:
E G Malherbe Library
2nd floor, Office 212
031 260 2061 WhatsApp 072 173 4869
Website

Open access

The open access movement aims to promote and provide unrestricted access to material that is not freely available in the public domain. There are several collections and places to go to find these open access journals:

South African open access journals on Sabinet  Incorporates 3 collections: Open Access Journal Collection; African Journal Archive; African Digital Repository

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)  Includes nearly 10 000 journals from 123 countri

Science Electronic Online Library (SciELO) Originated in Brazil 15 years ago to improve access to journal content

 Public Library of Science (PLOS)      Biomedical journals

 OpenDoar An authorative list of open access repositories

All information © 2018 University of KwaZulu-Natal. All rights reserved.