Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Suggested databases for SOBEDs
Click on the icons below to access the listed databases
What is a database?
DataAlign Centerbases contain references to journal articles from many different journals, chapters in books and in some cases, theses and dissertations. Some databases also include the full text of the articles and other items. Some databases are country specific such as SABINET (South Africa); some databases are multisiciplinary (Academic Search Complete; Proquest), while others are subject specific (EconLit=economics). Architectural and built environment journals are located in a range of databases: the EbscoHost Research databases collection; Proquest; JSTOR; Project Muse; ScienceDirect; Taylor & Francis; Arts and Humanities citation index as well as the SABINET collection for South African resources (see below for links to all of these).
Most academic journals are not freely available via search engines such as Google, libraries have to pay for access. The UKZN Library's website provides an alphabetical list of all databases as well as a list of databases by subject.
NEW DATABASES IN 2017
African Writers’ series
AIP e-Journals Package
Annual Reviews – Sciences Collection
Astronomy & Astrophysics Journal
Classification Web Subscription
Grove’s dictionary of music
Lippincott WW journal collection
Oxford English Dictionary Online
Royal Astronomical Society
RSC Journals – Gold Package
Sabinet EZ-PROXY, RDA TOOLKIT
Sabinet Retrospective Government Gazettes
Science Classic (Archive 1880 to 1996)
Taylor & Francis: ST & SSH collection
Web of Science
All information © 2018 University of KwaZulu-Natal. All rights reserved.