LibGuides: Psychology : Databases

What is a database

Databases contain references to journal articles, chapters in books and in some cases, theses and dissertations. Some databases also include the full text of the articles and other items. Access to these databases is paid for by the Library and available to registered students and staff of UKZN only.

Psychology Databases

At this point in time, UKZN has no access to PsycARTICLES and PsycINFO. We apologise for any inconvenience caused by this lack of access.

PsycARTICLES

a definitive source of full-text peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. Contains over 150.000 articles from nearly 80 journals published by the APA.

PsycINFO

Complete full-text coverage from top psychology and related publications for students and mental health professionals.

Taylor & Francis

Taylor and Francis Group is part of the Academic Publishing. It is searchable by keywords, author,DOI or browse by subject

ScienceDirect

Search for peer-reviewed journals, articles, book chapters and open access content

See also

Multidisciplinary Databases

Google Scholar
Sabinet
Sabinet offers access to reources worldwide.
JSTOR A database of back issues of core journals. All issues of each journal are included in full-text except for the most recent 2 to 5 years.
Academic Search Complete multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
Wiley Online Library

INFORMATION / TRAININGS FROM DATABASE SUPPLIERS

ScienceDirect Part 2: Understanding what funding bodies expect from grant applications In the second webinar in our series focusing on understanding and getting the best from research metrics and indicators, Lesley shares insights into the expectations of funding bodies. Lesley discusses how best to use metrics and indicators in your grant application. Among the topics covered are: - The research funding cycle - Funder wants, needs and other expectations - The centrality of peer review and how this plays a role - What metrics and indicators can support your case Live online Jun 15, 2021, 3:00 pm South Africa - Johannesburg or after on demand 30 mins

InterLibrary Loans

Please make use of our of our InterLibrary Loans departments to gain access to any items that UKZN libraries do not own. Please plan for at least a two week delay before an item arrives. There is sometimes a cost involved (staff will notify of the exact amount payable). Please consult the guides below for further information. Please watch the ILL video (4min) for further assistance.