LibGuides: Psychology : Books

PSYCHOLOGY SHELF

150-158/616.8-618

The Library's iCatalogue will help to discover all available material at UKZN libraries and it's location. It will also indicate the current status of each material e.g. out on loan, on order, missing etc.

Training workshops on how to use the Icatalogue are offered at the beginning of each semester and whenever there is a need.

Basic searching.

Advanced searching.

iCatalogue (WorldCat local) FAQ

Guide to iCatalogue A guide to help library users when using the iCatalogue.

Print Books in Academic Reserve

Prescribed books: Academic Reserves

Prescribed and recommended books kept at the Issue Desk on the ground floor of the Main Library.

Academic Reserves materials may not be taken out of the library during the day but may be borrowed overweekends.
Academic reserve material may be used in the library for two hours only.
Photocopying services are also available in the library.

Psychology : an introduction 5th ed by Swartz 5th edition. Summary"Psychology: An Introduction is a comprehensive psychology textbook aimed at first year students. The 4th edition has been revised to focus on key areas of the undergraduate syllabus. The book retains its strength in providing students with a sound theoretical foundation, as well as streamlining the detail provided in the narrative introductions, research findings and relevant case studies. This gives students the tools to develop their own ideas and to engage critically with the content. Psychology: An Introduction provides an excellent foundation for students pursuing careers in diverse fields, such as health, education, business, and social development." --Publisher.
Call Number: 150 PSY
ISBN: 9780190748906
Publication Date: 2021
Introduction to Psychology by Dennis Coon; John O. Mitterer Co-written by an author who garners more accolades and rave reviews from instructors and students with each succeeding edition, INTRODUCTION TO PSYCHOLOGY: GATEWAYS TO MIND AND BEHAVIOR, TWELFTH EDITION attracts and holds the attention of even difficult-to-reach students. The Twelfth Edition's hallmark continues to be its pioneering integration of the proven-effective SQ4R learning system (Survey, Question, Read, Reflect, Review, Recite), which promotes critical thinking as it guides students step-by-step to an understanding of psychology's broad concepts and diversity of topics. Throughout every chapter, these active learning tools�together with the book's example-laced writing style, discussions of positive psychology, cutting-edge coverage of the field's new research findings, and excellent media resources�ensure that students find the study of psychology fascinating, relevant, and above all, accessible.
Call Number: 150 COO
ISBN: 9780495599111
Publication Date: 2008-12-29

Chapter 1
Psychology : An Introduction

Talk therapy toolkit : theory and practice of counselling and psychotherapy by Thirusha Naidu, Suvira Ramlall
Call Number: 616.8914 TAL
ISBN: 0627034101
Publication Date: 2016
Theories of Developmental Psychology by Patricia H. Miller
Call Number: 155.01 MIL
ISBN: 9781429278980
Publication Date: 2016-02-15

eBooks (online books)

An eBook is "an electronic version" of a printed book. Sometimes it exists without a print equivalent.

Accelerated Testing and Validation Accelerated Testing and Validation Methods is a cross-disciplinary guide that describes testing and validation tools and techniques throughout the product development process. Alex Porter not only focuses on what information is needed but also on what tools can produce the information in a timely manner. From the information provided, engineers and managers can determine what data is needed from a test and validation program and then how to select the best, most effective methods for obtaining the data.This book integrates testing and validation methods with a business perspective so readers can understand when, where, and how such methods can be economically justified. Testing and validation is about generating key information at the correct time so that sound business and engineering decisions can be made. Rather than simply describing various testing and validation techniques, the author offers readers guidance on how to select the best tools for a particular need, explains the appr
- This link opens in a new window
Discursive psychology : theory, method and applications A much-needed, hands-on guide to applying discursive theory - an increasingly popular yet complex approach to research in psychology. PART ONE: Theory Chapter 1: Discursive Psychology Chapter 2: DP and other forms of Discourse Analysis PART TWO: Methods Chapter 3: Developing a research question Chapter 4: Data collection and management Chapter 5: Transcribing and coding data Chapter 6: Analysing data using DP Chapter 7: Discursive devices Chapter 8: Writing up and presenting DP analyses PART THREE: Applications Chapter 9: DP topics, case-studies and project ideas Chapter 10: Applications and future developments
More eBooks or search the catalogue

Key Research and Study Skills in Psychology by Sieglinde McGee Summary Covers jargon without using jargon and explains all those simple things that many academics take for granted. It also gives good examples of how to get the best from your time studying psychology from how to write good essays to the rules of writing lab reports' - Dr Jay Coogan University of East London. Providing students with a single source from which they can learn and develop the wide range of skills necessary to achieve good and high grades in psychology, this guide will replace students' stress and fear of essays, reports, statistics
Publication Date: 2010

Neurocognitive Rehabilitation of Down Syndrome Down syndrome is one of the most commonly occurring developmental disorders and it is now possible to conceptualize and define opportunities for neurocognitive rehabilitation for those with the condition. This book describes how early cognitive intervention in children with Down syndrome can be carried out, and can reduce, or compensate for, the major deficits characteristic of the condition. This comprehensive account relates the neurocognitive approach to the major therapeutic endeavors in the neighboring fields of neurogenetics, experimental environmental enrichment, molecular genetics, pharmacology, pediatrics and cardiology for infants with Down syndrome
Practising training and development in South African organisations
Prescribed textbook for Psyc 302
Psychology : an introduction by Townsend; O'Neill; Swartz; De la Rey; Duncan
The SAGE handbook of qualitative research in psychology by Carla Willig; Wendy Stainton Rogers, 2008 This handbook covers the qualitative methods used in psychology combining 'how-to-do-it' summaries with examination of historical and theoretical foundations. Examples from recent research are used to illustrate how each method has been applied, the data analysed and the insights gained.
TORTURE | Psychological Assessment Social, Political, and Cultural ConsiderationsSelf-Report and the Controversy about Traumatic MemoryRisk Factors, and Natural History of Trauma and Torture-Related DisordersConducting the Psychological Evaluation and Barriers to Full DisclosureDiagnostic ConsiderationsPsychological Testing and the Use of Checklists and QuestionnairesFormulating the Clinical Impression

Some New books

Career psychology in the South African context by G B Stead; M B Watson
Call Number: 331.702 CAR PMB Main Library
Publication Date: 2017

PsyBlog

PsyBlog is a website founded and authored by Psychologist Dr. Jeremy Dean. It ublishes psychology related topics. It's covers scientific research on the subject of the mind and its processes. The topics are educational thus helping one to understand how the mind works.